Previous topic - Next topic

Which way would you prefer the most?

Stick to the original C++ code base and just bring it up to date
2 (66.7%)
Port it to MonoGame using C#, but ensure backwards compatibility
1 (33.3%)
Port it to Unity using C#, but ensure backwards compatibility
0 (0%)
Something else (Please post your idea in mind)
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 3

duke

Hey Guys!

Haven't been around here in quite some years. Who knows, maybe someone will remember me from back in the days. (Or from the Credits in the game.)
I'm amazed there is still a tiny community for the game!

The game itself doesn't seem to have gotten any development in the recent years either, Stephen probably has other things keeping him busy in life, which I totally understand!

I'm a software developer for a living myself and I still remember lovely game sessions with the original Amiga Knights and Stephen's remake. So I'd like to revive the project to some degree and do some work on it, probably starting with updating all the libraries being used with it.

But another idea I have in mind would be to port over the existing C++ source code to either MonoGame with C# or Unity (Although I feel Unity is a bit overkill for this.)
This would ensure cross platform compatibility and also updated libraries and even the possibility to eventually have a Android/iOS version of the game.
Of course I would stick close to the original source to have backwards compatibility in mind for existing mods.

Well then, let me know of how you feel about this idea and if you would like to contribute in any way! I'll most likely create a repository on GitHub for the project, since it features most of the project management stuff needed.

- duke

ImpassIve

Welcome back, duke!

While your idea of porting the game to C# language sounds interesting, I have some concerns about it.